Delete a Workspace
Delete a Workspace
If you no longer need a workspace, the workspace owner can permanently delete it. Deleting a workspace can’t be undone. Submitters can still access their own reports after deletion, but other workspace members may lose access to reports they didn’t submit.
Who can delete a workspace
Only the workspace owner can delete a workspace they own.
To learn more about the workspace owner role and what permissions they have, see What is a Workspace Owner.
How to delete a workspace
- In the navigation tabs (on the left on web, on the bottom on mobile), select Workspaces.
- Select More (⋮) next to the workspace you want to delete.
- Select Delete workspace.
- In the Delete [workspace name]? confirmation window, select Delete.
You can also delete a workspace from its settings. Open the workspace, select More, then select Delete.
What happens after you delete a workspace
After you confirm the deletion:
- Workspace: The workspace is permanently deleted and can’t be recovered.
- Workspace rooms: Rooms are archived. Historical chats remain available to view, but no new messages can be sent.
- Report access: The workspace owner retains access to all reports. Submitters retain access to reports they submitted. Other workspace members, including admins, approvers, and auditors, lose access to reports they didn’t submit.
- Unsubmitted expenses and reports: These remain available to their submitters and can be assigned to another workspace.
- Outstanding expenses and reports: Submitters can retract these and assign them to another workspace.
FAQ
Why can’t I delete my workspace?
You must be the workspace owner to delete a workspace. If your workspace is on an annual subscription, you can’t delete it until the end of the current subscription term.
To learn more about the annual subscription commitment, see When You Can Change Your Subscription.
What happens to my expenses and reports after I delete a workspace?
You can still access reports you submitted, even after the workspace is deleted.
The workspace owner retains access to all reports. Other workspace members, including admins, approvers, and auditors, lose access to reports they didn’t submit.
Unsubmitted expenses and reports remain available to their submitters and can be assigned to another workspace. Outstanding expenses and reports can be retracted and reassigned.